About Us‎ > ‎News‎ > ‎

Our Academies Shine Brightly At 2017 Essex Teacher Awards

posted Feb 13, 2017, 2:08 AM by rmatheson@academiesenterprisetrust.org   [ updated Feb 22, 2017, 6:35 AM ]
Outstanding AET teachers and academy support staff have been recognised at the 2017 Essex Teaching Awards.

The Essex County Council-run event celebrates excellence in education and highlights the outstanding work of teachers and other staff in the county’s schools.

This year’s AET award winners were:
Secondary Headteacher of the Year Award –
Winner: Emma Baker (Maltings Academy, Witham)
Highly Commended: Damian Lee (New Rickstones Academy, Witham).
Primary School Teacher of the Year Award –
Highly Commended: Sara Haines (Hamford Primary Academy, Frinton).
Secondary School Teacher of the Year Award –
Highly Commended: Jamie Benson (Greensward Academy, Hockley)
Highly Commended: Lucinda Craker (Maltings Academy, Witham).
Teaching Assistant of the Year Award –
Highly Commended: Ian Webdale (Maltings Academy, Witham).

Our sincere congratulations to Emma, Damian, Sara, Jamie, Lucinda and Ian and we wish Emma every success when she competes in the Regional Final of the 2017 Pearson Teaching Awards.
In a county with well over 550 schools it was a remarkable achievement to gain one outright winner and five highly commended awards in the eleven separate categories.

"Emma Baker receiving her Award from Clare Kershaw, Director for Commissioning, Education and Lifelong Learning, Essex County Council."