About Us‎ > ‎News‎ > ‎

Outstanding Success in Essex Teaching Awards

posted Feb 13, 2016, 1:25 AM by Caroline Dansey   [ updated Feb 13, 2016, 1:35 AM ]
AET Academies have been triumphant in the Third Annual County Teaching Awards.

There are just twelve AET academies in a county of 550 schools yet they managed to win, or be highly commended in, no less than five of the eleven categories. That is two more than last year and they swept the board in one of them.
Congratulations to Belinda Burt at Maltings Academy in Witham for winning The Award for Teaching Assistant of the Year. Maltings has an exceptional record in this category. In 2013 Claire Baldwin won the national Pearson Teaching Award
in London and in 2015 Laura Dowsett gained the top county accolade. Special mention goes to Kieran Wooler from Clacton Coastal Academy, another AET secondary, who was runner up and Highly Commended in the same category.

Well done to Cheryl Cox, also from Maltings Academy, who was Highly Commended in the Award for Secondary Teacher of the Year, and The PE Department at Tendring Technology College who were also Highly Commended in the Award for School Team of the Year.

Maltings success became a hat trick when its newly appointed Joint Governing Body with partner Witham school - New Rickstones Academy - won The Award for Governing Body of the Year. Pictured are (left to right) Andy Packer - Joint Chair; Diana McLeod - Vice Chair; and Lesley Guy - Joint Chair.

Congratulations are also due in the unique Student Choice Award (Secondary) where Ed Seager, also from Clacton Coastal Academy, was also an outright winner having been Highly Commended last year. This special category is decided by students, both past and present, at the school where the nominated candidates teach.

The annual showcase event is organised by Essex County Council and the ceremony took place at Anglia Ruskin University in Chelmsford.